About US

The Mission of United Methodist Community Ministries is to assist congregations in doing ministry with and in the community God has called them.

Our goal is that every congregation becomes involved in life-changing, risk-taking service for the transformation of the world, starting with our local communities. To that end, we offer Grants and Partnership facilitation so that every congregation can become actively involved in life-changing, risk-taking service for the transformation of the world.

We serve nine counties of central Ohio, including Delaware, Fairfield, Franklin, Licking, Logan, Madison, Marion, Pickaway, and Union county.

To accomplish our Mission and Goal we:

Encourage - Assist existing District Mission Centers, support churches with community outreach ministries, and provide aid to churches or assistance with outreach ministries.

Enable - Help churches and groups identify community needs and assets, develop a mission and strategic plan, form partnerships and implement community ministries.

Educate - Provide valuable tools that help churches become more involved in community ministries through website information, training, retreats, mission tours, grant-writing workshops, and more.

United Methodist Community Ministries Board of Directors

Capitol Area North District

Class of 2022

Judy Sharpe-Kosmatka (Harlem Road)  judysharpekos [at]
Rev. Judy Cramer (Magnetic Springs Charge) judycramer [at]           

Class of 2023

Karen Dill (Rushsylvania) dill2020 [at] 

Daphne Byers (Centenary) byers6143 [at]


Class of 2024

Rev. Amy Aspey (North Broadway/Short North) amy [at]

Mark Reed (William Street) deaconreed [at]


Ex Officio:

Rev. Dr. Tim Bias, District Superintendent

Rev. Karen Cook, Regional Missional Specialist and Director - UMCM


Capitol Area South District

Class of 2022


Mr. David Pennington (Brushy Fork) dwp69 [at]     (Finance Chair)


Class of 2023

Rev. Kenneth “Kenn” Barton (Good Shepherd/Fairview) pastorbarton [at] (Board Chair)        

Ms. Lori Fisher (Wesley Church of Hope) lorifisher2 [at]  


Class of 2024

Rev. Brian Jones (Lancaster First) brianjones [at]   

Rev. Anita Richter (Jackson Chapel) richteranita43 [at]    


Ex Officio:

District Superintendent, Rev. Dr. Tim Bias;
Regional Missional Specialist, Rev. Dr. Sara Thomas

Regional Missional Specialist and Director: Rev. Karen Cook, kcook [at];

Board Members

Board members are asked to participate in four board meetings a year. Board members can participate in other teams or committees of the Communities Ministries, but they are not required to do so.

Board members are nominated by their respective District’s Nominations Committee and approved by their District membership at their Annual District Conference. A term on the Board lasts three years. Persons can be invited to serve a second term. There is a six-year limit for serving on the Board.

Two Standing Committees

1) Local Outreach Support Committee - meets on a quarterly basis, conducts site visits to all the sites who have applied for a Local Outreach or District Mission Center grant and recommends to the Board the amounts to be awarded.

2) Finance and Investment Committee - meets quarterly and is in charge of oversight of our investment portfolio, developing the annual budget and reviewing financial statements.

2022 Meeting Dates

All meetings are held at:
West Ohio Conference Center,
32 Wesley Blvd, Worthington, OH

*Due to the Pandemic, all meetings will be held via zoom until further notice!

Local Outreach Support Committee

Weds. February 23, 2022 10:00 am - 11:30 am  

Weds. May 18, 2022 10:00 am - 11:30 am  

Weds. August 17, 2022 10:00 am - 11:30 am  

Weds, November 16, 2022 9:30 am - 4:00 pm 


Finance and Investment Committee

Weds. March 9, 2022 9:30 am - 10:30 am  

Weds. August 24, 2022 9:30 am - 10:30 am  


UMCM Board Meetings

Weds. March 9, 2022 10:30 am – noon 

Weds. May 25, 2022 10:30 am – noon  

Weds. August 24, 2022 10:30 am – noon  

Weds. November 30, 2022 10:30 am – noon